1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs  |  

Manohar Lal Khattar sworn in as Chief Minister of Haryana

Oct 27, 2014 11:11 IST

The BJP leader, Manohar Lal Khattar was sworn-in as the tenth Chief Minister of Haryana on 26 October 2014. The oath of office and secrecy was administered by the Haryana Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki at a ceremony held in Panchkula.

60-year-old, Khattar now leads the first-ever BJP government in Haryana since its formation. He is also the first non-Jat Chief Minister in the state after 18 years and the first Punjabi to hold the post.

Apart from Khattar, nine ministers including six of Cabinet rank were also sworn in. The six cabinet ministers are Kavita Jain, Ram Bilas Sharma, Abhimanyu, Om Parkash Dhankar, Anil Vij and Narbir Singh. Three others who were sworn in as ministers of state (independent charge) include Vikram Singh Thekedar, Krishan Kumar Bedi and Karan Dev Kamboj.

About Manohar Lal Khattar

• He is a first-time legislator, who won the Karnal assembly seat.
• Khattar is the 10th chief minister of Haryana, which was created 1 November 1966.
• He has been associated with the RSS for 40 years and BJP for 20 years.
• He has worked as the organizing secretary of BJP in Haryana.

Khattar was elected as the leader of the winning party by legislature of Haryana, after BJP won the Haryana assembly polls and attained a majority by bagging 47 of the 90 seats in the state. This was the first time that BJP contested on its own in the state.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes31 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Manohar Lal Khattar , Haryana Chief Minister , Haryana politics

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK