1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Nasim Zaidi assumed charge as Chief Election Commissioner of India

Apr 21, 2015 10:10 IST

Nasim Zaidi on 19 April 2015 assumed the charge as Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India. He succeeded Hari Shankar Brahma, who had retired on 18 April 2015.

With this, Zaidi became India’s 20th CEC. He will be the sole member of the three-member Election Commission till the government fills up the two vacant posts of election commissioners. He will have tenure of two years as he will attain the age of 65 in July 2017.

Nasim Zaidi is a 1976 batch IAS officer from the Uttar Pradesh cadre. He had served as the Director General of Civil Aviation (DGCA).

About Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India
As per the provisions of Article 324 of Indian Constitution, Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners are appointed by the President. They hold office for the term of 6 years or until they attain age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from office only through impeachment by Parliament.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes45 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK