1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

New York Times won prestigious Pulitzer prizes for West Africa Ebola coverage

Apr 22, 2015 16:00 IST

The New York Times on 20 April 2015 won two prestigious Pulitzer prizes for coverage of the Ebola outbreak in West Africa. The coverage is described by the Pulitzer board as courageous and vivid journalism that engaged the public and held authorities accountable.

For its Ebola coverage, The New York Times staff won the Pulitzer Prize for international reporting and freelancer Daniel Berehulak won Pulitzer Prize for the feature photography.

The Pulitzer Prize honours the extraordinary work in US journalism, literature, drama and other areas and brings welcome attention and recognition to newspapers and websites.

Other winners
• The Pulitzer for Public Service went to Charleston, South Carolina's Post and Courier for its series on domestic violence.
• The St. Louis Post-Dispatch won the Pulitzer Prize for photographic coverage of the Ferguson, Missouri, riots.
• The Seattle Times staff won prize for coverage of a deadly landslide.
• The Washington Post reporter Carol Leonnig won the prize for coverage of security lapses at the Secret Service.
• The Wall Street Journal won a prize in investigative reporting for Medicare Unmasked, the first reporting Pulitzer for the newspaper since 2007, when it was purchased by News Corp.
• New York Times reporter Eric Lipton won the prize for investigative reporting on how lobbyists can sway congressional leaders and state attorneys general.
• The Pulitzer for explanatory reporting went to Zachary Mider of Bloomberg News for showing how US corporations dodge taxes. It is the first Pulitzer for the New York-based news agency.
• Ned Parker and a Reuter’s team of reporters were finalists in international reporting for their work on the disintegration of Iraq and rise of ISIS.
• The local reporting prize went to Rob Kuznia, Rebecca Kimitch and Frank Suraci of the Daily Breeze of Torrance, California for their look at corruption in a small, cash-strapped school district.
• The feature writing prize went to Diana Marcum of the Los Angeles Times for drought coverage.
• The commentary prize went to Lisa Falkenberg of the Houston Chronicle. Mary McNamara of the Los Angeles Times won for criticism and the editorial writing prize went to Kathleen Kingsbury of the Boston Globe.
• The editorial cartooning prize went to Adam Zyglis of the Buffalo News.
• The fiction award went to Anthony Doerr for All the Light We Cannot See and the drama prize went to Stephen Adly Guirgis for Between Riverside and Crazy.
• The history prize went to Elizabeth A. Fenn for Encounters at the Heart of the World: A History of the Mandan People, published by Hill and Wang.
• David I. Kertzer won the prize for biography for The Pope and Mussolini: The Secret History of Pius XI and the Rise of Fascism in Europe published by Random House.
• Gregory Pardio won the prize for poetry for Digest; Elizabeth Kolbert won in general nonfiction for The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History and the music prize went to Julia Wolfe for Anthracite Fields.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes42 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK