North Korea wins 2016 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup

Oct 25, 2016 08:10 IST

North Korea's women's U-17 team on 21 October 2016 won the 2016 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup. The North Koreans defeated Japan in penalty kicks to grab the title.

This is North Korea's second U-17 Women's World Cup title. The country won the first ever U-17 Women's World Cup in 2008.

The 2016 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup was held in Jordan from 30 September to 21 October 2016.

CA eBook

About FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup

The FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup is an international association football tournament for female players under the age of 17.

It is organized by Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

The tournament is held in even-numbered years, starting in 2008.

The official emblem of the 2016 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup was unveiled on 3 May 2015, which was designed to showcase Jordan's most iconic symbols. Visual aspects of the Jordanian culture can be seen on the emblem that has the traditional shape of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Trophy.

Aseela is an Arabian oryx, which is the national animal of Jordan, was the mascot of the 2016 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: FIFA , FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup , North Korea , Jordan , Japan , Football

DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK