1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

OP Rawat appointed as Election Commissioner of India

Aug 14, 2015 08:22 IST

Om Prakash Rawat, a 1977 batch Indian Administrative Services (IAS) officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre, on 13 August 2015 was appointed as the Election Commissioner of India. His appointment will come into effect from the day he assumes office.

With Rawat’s appointment, the sole vacancy in the three-member poll body has been filled.

Born on 2 December 1953, Rawat will have tenure of more than three years which will end in December 2018. He had retired from government service in December 2014. During his career, he served as Secretary, Department of Public Enterprises in the Ministry of Heavy Industries. Earlier he had served with two chief ministers as their principal secretary.

An awardee of state government's 'recognition of forest rights' in 2009, Rawat did his MSc in Social Development Planning in 1989 in the United Kingdom.

An EC or a CEC has tenure of six years in office or till he or she attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. Naseem Zaidi is the Chief Election Commissioner and Achal Kumar Joti is the other Election Commissioner.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes60 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK