PM Modi, Cochin International Airport honoured with UN Champions of the Earth Award 2018

Sep 27, 2018 10:04 IST
PM Modi, Cochin International Airport honoured with UN Champions of the Earth Award 2018

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was on September 26, 2018 awarded with the prestigious UN Champions of the Earth Award 2018, the highest environmental honour of the United Nations.

The UN Environment jointly awarded PM Narendra Modi and French President Emmanuel Macron in the Policy Leadership category for their efforts regarding the creation of the International Solar Alliance.

PM Modi was also acknowledged for his unprecedented pledge to eliminate all single use plastic in India by 2022.

Other awardees

This year, the Champions of the Earth Award recognised six of the world’s most outstanding environmental changemakers for their combination of bold, innovative, and tireless efforts to tackle some of the most urgent environmental issues.

The other winners of the 2018 Champions of the Earth Awards are:



Cochin International Airport, Kerala

The Cochin International Airport was awarded for Entrepreneurial Vision, for its leadership in the use of sustainable energy. This world's first fully solar-powered airport proves that green business is good business.

Joan Carling, an activist from the Cordillera, Philippines

She was recognised with the Lifetime Achievement Award for her work as one of the world’s most prominent defenders of environmental and indigenous rights. Carling has been at the forefront of the conflict for land and the environment for more than 20 years.

Beyond Meat and Impossible Foods

These Plant-based food alternative providers were jointly recognised in the Science and Innovation Category for their revolutionary development of a popular, plant-based alternative to beef, and for their efforts to educate consumers about environmentally conscious alternatives.

China’s Zhejiang’s Green Rural Revival Programme

The programme was awarded for Inspiration and Action for the transformation of a once heavily polluted area of rivers and streams in East China's Zhejiang province.

The Awards will be presented to them during the Champions of the Earth Gala in New York City, on the sidelines of the 73rd UN General Assembly. The gala will be hosted by actor and environmental activist Alec Baldwin and UN Environment Goodwill Ambassador Dia Mirza.

Champions of the Earth Award

• The Champions of the Earth award, the UN’s highest environmental recognition, was founded in 2005.

• The award celebrates exceptional figures from the public and private sectors and from civil society, whose actions have had a transformative positive impact on the environment.

• The award also recognises the efforts for promoting new areas of levels of cooperation on environmental action.

• The past laureates include - Afroz Shah, who led the world’s largest beach cleanup (2016), Rwandan President Paul Kagame (2016), former US Vice-President Al Gore (2007), Ocean Cleanup CEO Boyan Slat (2014), scientist-explorer Bertrand Piccard, and developer of Google Earth Brian McClendon (2013).

International Solar Alliance comes into force


Video: Check out the latest current affairs of this week

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK