International Solar Alliance comes into force

Dec 7, 2017 16:35 IST
International Solar Alliance comes into force

The International Solar Alliance (ISA) on 6 December 2017 became a treaty-based international inter-governmental organisation following the ratification by Guinea on 6 November 2017.

Guinea was the 15th country to ratify the agreement. And as per the rules, ISA would become an international legal body after the ratification by 15 countries.

The other 14 countries were India, Bangladesh, Comoros, Fiji, France, Ghana, Mauritius, Nauru, Niger, Mali, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan and Tuvalu.

Headquartered at Gurugram, ISA aims at large scale deployment of solar energy through better harmonization and aggregation of demand from solar rich countries lying between the tropics of Cancer and Capricorn.

Till date, 46 countries have signed and 19 countries have ratified the Framework Agreement of International Solar Alliance:

Signatory Countries
Australia, Bangladesh. Benin, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Chile, Costa Rica, Democratic Republic of Congo, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guiana, Fiji, France, Gabonese Republic, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, India, Kiribati, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Peru, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Tonga, Togolese Republic, Tuvalu, UAE, Vanuatu, and Venezuela.

Ratifying Countries

India, France, Australia, Bangladesh, Comoros, Cuba, Fiji, Guinea, Ghana, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Nauru, Niger, Peru, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, and Tuvalu

International Solar Alliance: Timeline
• 30 November 2015: India and France jointly launched International Solar Alliance in Paris during the United Nations climate change conference (COP21).
• 25 January 2016: PM Narendra Modi along with French President Francois Hollande laid the foundation stone of the International Solar Alliance (ISA) headquarters in National Institute of Solar Energy (NISE) in Gwalpahari, Gurgaon.
• 25 January 2016: PM Narendra Modi along with French President Francois Hollande inaugurated the Interim Secretariat of the ISA in Gwalpahari, Gurgaon.
• 25 January 2016: India dedicated 5 acre land at NISE to ISA for hosting its Secretariat and also contributed 175 crore rupees for ISA corpus fund for an initial period of five years.
• 22 April 2016: The Interim Administrative Cell of International Solar Alliance (ISA Cell) and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) declared their intention to promote solar energy globally.
• 30 June 2016: ISA Cell and the World Bank signed declaration to promote solar energy globally. The declaration was signed during the visit of the World Bank President Jim Yong Kim to India.
• 15 November 2016: More than 20 countries including Brazil, France and India signed the framework agreement of ISA at Marrakech, Morocco.
• 28 December 2016: The Union Cabinet approved the ratification of ISA’s Framework Agreement of International Solar Alliance (ISA) by India.
• 21 March 2017: Upendra Tripathy, the former secretary at Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, was appointed as the full-time interim Director General of ISA.
• 6 November 2017: Guinea ratified the International Solar Alliance (ISA) Framework Agreement and became the 15th country to ratify the agreement. With this, total 15 countries ratified the agreement.
• 6 December 2017: The ISA framework agreement entered into force on 6 December 2017, the thirtieth day after the ratification by Guinea, the 15th country to ratify the agreement.

About International Solar Alliance (ISA)

• It is India’s first international and inter-governmental organization of 121 Countries and has headquarters in India with United Nations as Strategic Partner.
• It aims to create a collaborative platform for increased deployment of solar energy technologies to enhance energy security and sustainable development.
• It will work with partner countries to formulate projects and programmes to accelerate development of clean solar energy technologies.
• It’s Governing Structure consists of an Assembly, a Council and a Secretariat.
• The ISA Assembly provides guidance, direction and advice to the Secretariat for undertaking the activities.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: International Solar Alliance , ISA , India , France , ISA Cell , PM Modi

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK