1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

PM takes oath as Rayja Sabha Member from Assam for 5th Consecutive Term

Jun 17, 2013 14:59 IST

Manmohan SinghDr. Manmohan Singh, the Prime Minister of India on 17 June 2013 took oath as the member of Rajya Sabha. He was elected to Rajya Sabha for the fifth consecutive term from Assam. In the election, he was the only contestant for the first preference vote seat.

Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Mohammad Hamid Ansari administered the oath to Manmohan Singh in his chamber in the Parliament House.

PART V, of the Constitution of India under Article 99 provides power of Oath or affirmation by members. The Article mentions:

Every member of either House of Parliament shall, before taking his seat, make and subscribe before the President, or some person appointed in that behalf by him, an oath or affirmation according to the form set out for the purpose in the Third Schedule.

Manmohan Singh re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Assam for the Fifth Time

Is this article important for exams ? Yes28 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK