PMO constituted committee to facilitate utilization of Mineral resources in Meghalaya

PMO constituted a six-member committee to facilitate utilisation of mineral resources in Meghalaya.

Created On: Sep 12, 2014 13:02 ISTModified On: Sep 12, 2014 13:04 IST

Prime Minister’s Office on 11 September 2014 constituted a six-member committee to facilitate systemic, scientific and planned utilisation of mineral resources in Meghalaya to prevent environmental degradation.

The Committee will be chaired by the cabinet secretary and other members are Home secretary, Coal ministry secretary, Mines secretary and Meghalaya chief secretary.

The committee was constituted on the request of Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma. In July 2014, Mukul Sangma has taken up the matter with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and engaged a renowned Constitutional lawyer to advise the state government on how to deal with the coal ban imposed by the NGT.

The Meghalaya government has approved the Meghalaya Mines and Minerals Policy in 2012 but its rules are yet to come up and made operational affecting the environment due to mining. In April 2014, the National Green Tribunal has put on hold all coal mining activities pending operationalising of a scheme to meet statutory requirement of environment protection and safety.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

4 + 1 =