Polish author Olga Tokarczuk wins Man Booker International prize 2018

Tokarczuk’s book 'Flights' was chosen over the works of five other finalists including Iraqi author Ahmed Saadawi’s novel ‘Frankenstein In Baghdad’.

Created On: May 24, 2018 16:14 ISTModified On: May 24, 2018 16:21 IST
Polish author Olga Tokarczuk wins Man Booker International prize 2018

Polish author Olga Tokarczuk on May 23, 2018 won the Man Booker International Prize 2018 for her novel ‘Flights’, becoming Poland’s first ever writer to win the award.

Lisa Appignanesi, presiding over of the bench of board of five judges, praised Tokarczuk as a ‘writer of wonderful wit, imagination and literary panache’.

Tokarczuk shared the prize money of 50,000 pounds with the Flight’s English-language translator, Jennifer Croft.


  • Tokarczuk won the prize for the English translation of her novel ‘Flights’, which narrates multiple journeys in time, space and human anatomy.
  • The novel was first published in Polish language in 2007 and in 2017, it was translated into English by Jennifer Croft.
  • The novel flies its readers through a galaxy of departures and arrivals, stories and digressions, all the while exploring matters close to the contemporary and human predicament where only plastic escapes mortality.

Other finalists
Tokarczuk’s book was chosen over the works of five other finalists. These were:

• Iraqi author Ahmed Saadawi’s novel Frankenstein In Baghdad.

• South Korean author Han Kang’s meditative novel The White Book.

• Hungarian author Laszlo Krasznahorkai’s novel The World Goes On.

• French author Virginie Despentes’s novel Vernon Subutex 1.

• Spanish author Antonio Munoz Molina’s novel Like A Fading Shadow.

About Man Booker International Prize

  • The Man Booker International Prize is an international literary award hosted in the United Kingdom.
  • From 2005 until 2015, the award was given every two years to a living author of any nationality for a body of work published in English or generally available in English translation.
  • Since 2016, the award has been open to books in any language that have been translated into English.
  • It carries the award money of 50,000 pounds, which is split evenly between the writer and translator.
  • The 2017 winner of the prestigious prize was ‘A Horse Walks Into a Bar’ by David Grossman.

About Olga Tokarczuk
• Born on January 29, 1962 in Sulechow, Poland, Olga Tokarczuk is the author of more than a dozen books.

• She is among Poland’s top writers, with a number of bestsellers to her name.

• Her books portray a polychromatic world eternally in motion, with characters whose biographies and personalities intermingle and with details drawn from reality.

• Tokarczuk has won several awards, both at home and abroad, including Poland’s most prestigious ‘Nike Literary Award’ twice.

• She co-wrote the screenplay for the Polish crime film ‘Spoor’, which won the Alfred Bauer Prize at the Berlin film festival in 2017 and was also selected as Poland’s entry for the best foreign language film at the 2018 Oscars.

• Tokarczuk is also a political activist who does not shy away from criticising Poland’s rightwing Law and Justice (PiS) government. Her activism has brought her death threats in 2015 after she stated in media that an open and tolerant Poland was a myth.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

5 + 5 =