Prasoon Joshi appointed Chairperson of Central Board of Film Certification

Prasoon Joshi was appointed as the Chairperson of the Central Board of Film Certification in an honorary capacity from 11 August 2017 for a period of three years or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

Created On: Aug 13, 2017 08:06 ISTModified On: Aug 12, 2017 12:50 IST
Prasoon Joshi appointed Chairperson of Central Board of Film Certification

The Union Government on 11 August 2017 appointed lyricist Prasoon Joshi as Chairman of the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) for a period of three years. With this appointment, Joshi has replaced former Chairman Pahlaj Nihalani.

In addition to this, the government has also reconstituted the existing CBFC with immediate effect for a period of three years or until further orders.

Government has appointed Prasoon Joshi as the chairman of the CBFC by exercising its powers conferred by sub-section (1) of section 3 of the Cinematograph Act, 1952 (37 of 1952) read with rule 3 of the Cinematograph (Certification) Rules, 1983.

Information and Broadcasting Ministry in a release said, there are 12 members of the new board, which include Gautami Tadimalla, Narendra Kohli, Naresh Chandra Lal, Vivek Agnihotri and Vidya Balan.

About Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC)

• CBFC is a statutory body under Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, regulating the public exhibition of films under the provisions of the Cinematograph Act.

• The Board consists of non-official members and a Chairman, all of whom are appointed by Central Government. It functions with headquarters at Mumbai. Any Film can be publicly exhibited in the country only after they have been certified by it.

Who is Prasoon Joshi?

• Born on 16 September 1971, Prasoon Joshi is an Indian lyricist, screenwriter, poet, marketer as well as an ad Guru.

• He is the CEO of McCann World group India and Chairman (Asia Pacific), a subsidiary of global marketing firm McCann Erickson.

• He is a recipient of Filmfare Best Lyricist Award three times, in 2007, 2008 and 2014.

• He has also received the National Film Award for Best Lyrics twice, for his work in Taare Zameen Par (2007), and Chittagong (2013).

• In 2015, he was conferred with Padma Shri by the Government of India in 2015, for his contributions towards the field of Arts, Literature and Advertising.

• In 2008, he was invited as the Cannes Jury chairman and in 2009, he was named among the exclusive 10-member Cannes Titanium and Integrated Jury at the Cannes Lions International Advertising Festival.

• In 2006, he was chosen a 'Young Global Leader 2006' by the Forum of Young Global Leaders, an affiliate of the World Economic Forum.

• Joshi was part of the select three-member Core Creative Advisory Committee for the Commonwealth Games 2010 opening and closing ceremonies, with Shyam Benegal and Javed Akhtar.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

0 + 1 =