PSLV C23, carrying five satellites, launched successfully from Sriharikota

ISRO has launched PSLV C23 that carried five satellites from four nations from Satish Dhawan Space Centre at Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh.

Created On: Jun 30, 2014 12:12 ISTModified On: Jun 30, 2014 17:55 IST

PSLV C23ISRO’s PSLV C23 was launched on 30 June 2014 from Satish Dhawan Space Centre at Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh at 9.52 am. The PSLV C23 carried five satellites belonging to four countries namely France, Germany, Canada and Singapore.

All these five satellites were launched under commercial arrangements that ANTRIX (ISRO’s commercial arm) has entered with the respective foreign agencies.

Earlier, the launch time was fixed at 9.49 am IST but was launched with a delay of 3 minutes due to probability of space debris movement during the launch window.

imageOn its way, PSLV C23 will separate all five satellites, one by one into their intended orbit and these satellites are
• The French Earth observation satellite SPOT-7 of 714 kg which is similar to Indian Remote Sensing System (IRSS)
• 14 kg AISAT of Germany
• NLS7.1 (CAN-X4) & NLS7.2 (CAN-X5) of Canada weighing 15 kg and the 7 kg respectively are from University of Toronto, Institute of Aerospace studies/Space Flight Laboratory
• VELOX-1 of Singapore from Nanyang Technological University and is a technology demonstrator for design of image sensor, MEMS-based determination and control system and inter-satellite RF link

Till date, ISRO has launched 35 satellites of foreign countries onboard its workhorse, the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV).

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

5 + 4 =