1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Rafael Nadal won French Open Title for the ninth time

Jun 9, 2014 18:13 IST

French Open title 2014Rafael Nadal (rank no. 1) of Spain won the French Open title 2014 for the ninth time on 8 June 2014. He is the first men to win five French Open titles in a row. He won against Novak Djokovic (rank no. 2) of Yugoslavia with 3-6, 7-5, 6-2, and 6-4 in the final.

He made 66 wins and one defeat in 10 year at the French Open (Roland Garros). With this win, he made total 14 Grand slams and second among the men with Pete Sampras (14 Grand Slams).

Apart from this, Maria Sharapova of Russia won the title against Simona Halep of Romania in the final of the French Open women’s singles. With this win she made fifth Grand Slam title.

About French Open
The French Open 2014 was first held in 1928 and is also known as Roland Garros. It is one of the world's four major tennis tournaments.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes112 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Rafael Nadal , Roland Garros , French Open title 2014

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK