Stuart Oliver won 1st-ever Indian truck-racing championship

Stuart Oliver of Castrol Vecton team won the inaugural Tata T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship at Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida.

Created On: Mar 24, 2014 12:38 ISTModified On: Mar 24, 2014 15:12 IST

Stuart OliverStuart Oliver, the experienced British racer on 23 March 2014 won the inaugural Tata T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship at Buddh International Circuit (BIC) in Greater Noida. He represented Castrol Vecton team in the race and took 30:26.848 minutes to complete 15 laps of the 2.5 km loop on the 5.1 km-long track.

Stuart Oliver (50-year-old), a ten-time British Truck Racing Champion staved off the stiff challenge from Mathew Summerfield (30:31:522 minutes) of Team Cummins. Summerfield finished at the second position. David Jenkins, representing Tata Technologies Motorsports finished third with timings 30:32:413 minutes.

Team title was awarded to Castrol Vecton.

This was the first-ever truck racing in India and saw two races that was piloted by experienced truck racing drivers of British and European Truck Racing circuits.

The two race events were comprised of
• First race – 5 lap qualifier
• Second race – 15-lap main race


Calculations of the final standings of the race were based on the combined points scored by each driver in both races. The team championship award was given on the basis of combined scores of the two drivers of respective teams

In total the inaugural Tata T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship was participated by six teams with 12 Prima truck. The teams that participated in the race were
• Team Castrol Vecton with drivers Stuart Oliver and Dave Ball
• Team Tata Technologies Motor Sports with drivers David Jenkins and Brian Burt
• Team Allied Partners with drivers Paul McCumisky and Steve Rothery
• Team Dealer Warriors with Ben Horne and Steven Powell
• Team Dealer Daredevils with Steve Thomas and Graham Powell
• Team Cummins with Mat Summerfield and Simon Reid

Alex Felix was the Race Director of T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship.

About T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship
The T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship is India's first ever truck racing championship, by Tata Motors and was conducted under the aegis of FIA (Federation Internationale de l'Automobile) and FMSCI (the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India). The first ever truck racing event of India has been inscribed on the calendars of FIA & FMSCI.

The truck racing championship was organised by Madras Motor Sports Club (MMSC), with safety and performance standards being followed as per the British Truck Racing Association (BTRA) guidelines.

Key sponsors of the event were Cummins, Castrol, Tata Technologies, JK Tyre (official tyre partner for the entire event), WABCO official braking technology partner and Accenture.

All the 12 Tata Prima trucks that were used in the championship were Indian and all of them were heavily-modified for being capable of putting out 37-hp. These trucks had the ability to reach a top speed of 110 km per hour.
About Tata Motors
Tata Motors is India’s market leader in commercial vehicles and is among the top in passenger vehicles. It is also the world's fifth largest truck manufacturer and fourth largest bus manufacturer. Tata cars, buses and trucks are being marketed in several countries in Europe, Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, South East Asia, South America, CIS and Russia.

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

5 + 1 =