Supreme Court ordered Centre and States to make 22 CBI courts functional across India

The Supreme Court gave another 4 months deadline to center and state governments to make 22 CBI courts functional across India.

Created On: Dec 11, 2013 09:30 ISTModified On: Dec 11, 2013 12:28 IST

The Supreme Court of India on 10 December 2013 set a fresh four month deadline for the centre and states to make functional all the 22 CBI courts across the country for trying corruption cases that involves politicians and public servant. The Court has also warned the chief secretaries that failure to comply with its order will invite contempt action against them.

The bench of Supreme Court that comprised Justice GS Singhvi and C Nagappan also observed that these CBI Courts are necessary for speedy and expeditious disposal of corruption cases.

The Supreme Court had on 30 January directed the Centre to set up 22 special CBI courts within two months across the country. The Supreme Court also brought in notice the letter written by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to the Chief Ministers for creation of additional special courts, in July 2009. The Government in 2009 took a decision to set up 71 additional special courts for trial of CBI cases in various states.

The Apex Court has been passing orders for creation of the courts since 2011, but the Government failed in creation of the court.



Red Beacons are allowed for Constitutional posts and high dignitaries: Supreme Court

Supreme Court Set up Committee to Deal with Sexual Harassment Complaints

SC favoured harsher punishment including life term for Milk Adulterators

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

1 + 0 =