The Turbulent Years, Volume II of memoirs of President Pranab Mukherjee, released

Jan 29, 2016 08:11 IST


The Turbulent Years – 1980-1996: Pranab Mukherjee

The second volume of memoirs of President Pranab Mukherjee titled The Turbulent Years – 1980-1996 was released on 28 January 2016 by Vice President Hamid Ansari in function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

In this book, he reminisced about crucial events of his political life including Indira Gandhi's assassination, Babri Masjid demolition, operation Blue Star and his ouster from Rajiv Gandhi's Cabinet.

The book chronicled some momentous developments of the 1980s and 1990s which were considered most turbulent in India's post independence history.

The book sheds new light on every major political occurrence of the time--from Rajiv Gandhi's ascendance as Prime Minister to the emergence of P V Narsimha Rao as leader of the nation.

In the book he candidly recognized that he was never a mass leader and he did not have the type of following which rebels from Congress like Ajay Mukherjee in 1960s or recently Mamata and in one sense Indira Gandhi herself had to run for PM’s post.

The first volume of President’s memoir titled The Dramatic Decade- The Indira Gandhi Years was released on 11 December 2014.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes39 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK