Top-level bureaucratic reshuffle: Rajiv Gauba to be next Union Home Secretary

Jun 23, 2017 09:07 IST

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) on 21 June 2017 approved various appointments leading to the major top-level bureaucratic reshuffle. A total of 16 secretaries were appointed for various Union Government Departments.

Urban Development Secretary Rajiv Gauba was named as the next Union Home Secretary. He will succeed Rajiv Mehrishi, who will complete his term on 30 August 2017.

Gauba, a 1982 batch IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre, will take over as Officer on Special Duty (OSD) in the Union Home Ministry with immediate effect.

CA eBook

Other Appointments

Durga Shanker Mishra will replace Rajiv Gauba as the Urban Development Secretary. He is the Additional Secretary in the same ministry.

Culture Secretary N K Sinha will be the Information and Broadcasting Secretary in place of Ajay Mittal, who will now be the DoPT secretary.

Executive Director in World Bank Subhash C Garg will be the new Department of Economic Affairs Secretary.

Aruna Sundararajan will be the new Telecom Secretary. She is at present the Secretary, Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY). Ajay Prakash Sawhney will be the new MeitY Secretary in place of Sundararajan.

NHAI chief Yudhvir Singh Malik will be the Road, Transport and Highways Secretary.

Deepak Kumar will be the next Chairman of National Highways Authority of India (NHAI).

Ajay Kumar Bhalla was confirmed as the Power Secretary. He is at present the Director General of Foreign Trade. He will succeed P K Pujari, who retires on 30 June 2017.

Food Processing Industries Secretary Avinash Kumar Srivastava will be the Secretary of Department of Consumer Affairs.

New and Renewable Energy Secretary Rajeev Kapoor was named as the Secretary of the Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals.

Ravi Kant, a 1984 batch IAS officer of Bihar cadre, will be the new Shipping Secretary.

Border Management Secretary Sanjeevanee Kutty was appointed as Secretary of Department of Ex-Servicemen Welfare in Defense Ministry.

Arun Kumar Panda was appointed as the Secretary in the Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes1 Person Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK