TR Zeliang led government won Motion of Confidence in Nagaland Assembly

Chief Minister of Nagaland TR Zeliang government's trust vote in the 60-member Assembly didn’t saw any opposition.

Feb 6, 2015 16:16 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Chief Minister TR Zeliang led coalition Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) government-III of Nagaland on 5 February 2015 won the Vote of Confidence in the State Legislative Assembly with the support of 59 MLAs. The trust motion was not opposed by anyone in the 60-member Nagaland Assembly.

The voting was done at the one-day special session of the Assembly, as the Speaker did not vote. The legislators who cast their votes for Zeliang include 37 of NPF, 8 of Congress, 4 BJP, 1 each of NCP and JD(U) and 8 Independents.

The special session of the Assembly was summoned by Governor P B Acharya in order to settle the internal squabbling within the ruling Naga People's Front (NPF).

The motion of trust was put to Voice Vote in the Assembly by the speaker Chotisuh Sazo, later through the ballot after Chief Minister requested Speaker to put the motion to vote by slips for the record. Fifty nine legislators cast their votes through slips.


Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए