Delhi Metro Pink Line: Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake - Shiv Vihar section opens for public

Oct 31, 2018 21:07 IST
Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake Shiv Vihar section of Delhi Metro opens for public

The Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake to Shiv Vihar section of the Delhi Metro Pink Line was flagged off by Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri and Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia on October 31, 2018.

With the opening of this 17.86 km long section, Delhi Metro joined the league of top metro networks around the world which have an operational length of over 300 km like those in London, Beijing, Shanghai and New York.

Delhi Metro Network has now become 314 kilometres long with 229 metro stations. From now on, Delhi Metro will be running 4,749 trips a day, the highest ever so far.

Highlights of the Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake - Shiv Vihar section (Pink Line)

The 17.86 km long Shiv Vihar – Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake section is part of 59 km long Majlis Park - Shiv Vihar corridor (Line 7) of Phase 3 of the Delhi Metro, also known as the Pink Line.

Three interchange facilities at Welcome (With Red Line), Karkarduma and Anand Vihar ISBT (with Blue Line) will tremendously boost the connectivity of areas such as Shiv Vihar, Gokul Puri, Maujpur, Jaffrabad, etc.

This stretch will later get connected with the presently operational Majlis Park – Lajpat Nagar section of Pink Line.

The Majlis Park – Shiv Vihar Corridor is crossing the existing Vaishali- Dwarka elevated line 21 metres above the ground and is 10 metres above the existing Metro line.

All the major corridors under Delhi Metro’s Phase 3 are expected to be opened for passengers by December 2018.

This stretch will be a major boon for the eastern and northern zones of the national capital.

The residents of the neighbouring Ghaziabad areas of Uttar Pradesh will also get immensely benefitted.

Projects envisioned for future

In coming months, Delhi Metro will also breach the 350 kilometre mark and more and more people of the entire National Capital Region will be benefitted.

Delhi Metro has added 80 kilometres of new sections in the year 2018. Soon, Delhi Metro Phase-IV project of 103.93 km length will also be commenced. In the coming months, a lot of expansion is going to happen in the NCR cities as new sections will open in NOIDA, Greater NOIDA, Ghaziabad and Ballabhgarh.

Other Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) projects being planned include the 82.15 km Delhi to Meerut corridor; Delhi- Panipat (111 km) and Delhi- Alwar (180 km).


Video: Check out the latest current affairs of this week


Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK