Union Government Centre declares entire Assam as 'disturbed' area under AFSPA for a month

The home ministry in its gazette notification said, the entire Assam has been declared “disturbed” under the AFSPA with effect from 3 August to 31 August 2017.

Created On: Aug 8, 2017 14:38 ISTModified On: Aug 8, 2017 14:38 IST

The Union Government on 7 August 2017 declared entire Assam state as a disturbed area under the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act (AFSPA) for one month. AFSPA was declared in the state after violent activities by insurgent groups ULFA, NDFB, and others.

In addition, the Home Ministry has also declared Meghalaya’s border areas adjoining Assam (20 km belt in Meghalaya) as disturbed under the AFSPA for two more months with effect from 3 August 2017 to 30 September 2017.

Besides, three districts Arunachal Pradesh, namely Tirap, Changlang and Longding, and areas falling within the jurisdiction of 14 police stations in nine other districts of the state were also as disturbed under the AFSPA for two more months with effect from 4 August 2017.

The 14 police stations fall under the districts of Papumpare, East Siang, West Siang, East Kameng, West Kameng, Lower Dibang Valley, Namsai, Lohit district, Lower Subansiri in Arunachal Pradesh.

Reports suggest that in 2016 there were 75 incidents of violence in Assam in which 33 people were killed and 14 others were abducted. This violence was perpetrated in Assam by insurgent groups.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

7 + 4 =