1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Environment | Ecology  |  

Union Government constituted a panel to review environment laws

Sep 3, 2014 03:24 IST

Union Government on 2 September 2014 constituted a high-level committee to review five environment laws. The Cabinet Secretary T S R Subramanian will head the committee comprising of four members.

The members of the committee are former Environment Ministry secretary Viswanath Anand, Justice (Retd) A K Srivastav and senior advocate of Supreme Court K N Bhat.

The Environment Ministry asked the panel to submit its report regarding the environment laws within two months.

Reasons behind setting up of the committee
•    The motive is to bring the environment laws in line with the current requirements through amendments to achieve economic growth without compromising green issues.
•    The panel will review 5 important green laws enacted between 1971 and 1986- Environment (Protection) Act, 1986; Forest (Conservation) Act, 1980; Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972; The Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1974; The Air (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1981.
•    As per the Terms of Reference, the committee would evaluate the status of implementation of each of the Acts with regard to the objectives.
•    It will also examine and take into account various court orders and judicial pronouncements relating to these Acts.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes41 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: T.S.R. Subramanian , environment laws , committee

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK