Union Government extended National Food Security Act deadline by 6 months

Apr 4, 2015 15:00 IST

The Union Government on 3 April 2015 extended the deadline for implementation of the National Food Security Act (NFSA) deadline by six months in the states.  

The deadline has already been extended twice for implementing the food law, was ending on April 4. The deadline was extended for the third time so that the remaining states adopt and implement the law within six months.

Since passage by Parliament in September 2013, the NFSA has been implemented in 11 states and Union Territories (UTs). The rest 25 states/UTs have not implemented it yet.

At present, the Union Government allocates foograins to 11 states/UTs as per the new food law, while the rest are getting foodgrains quota as per earlier PDS norms.

11 states/UTs where the NFSA has been implemented includes Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Delhi and Chandigarh, some of them fully and others partially.

National Food Security Act (NFSA)
The National Food Security Act (NFSA) was launched with an objective to provide food and nutritional security to people of the country. It aims at providing legal entitlement to 5 kg of subsidised foodgrains per person per month at 1 rupee to 3 rupees per kilogram to two-thirds (67 percent) of the country’s population.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes23 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: National food security act , Deadline of NFSA extended

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK