UNSC adopted resolution to boost humanitarian aid access in Syria

UNSC unanimously adopted a resolution on to boost humanitarian aid access in Syria to ease some civilian suffering.

Created On: Feb 24, 2014 16:55 ISTModified On: Feb 24, 2014 17:11 IST

The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) unanimously adopted a resolution on 22 February 2014 to boost humanitarian aid access in Syria to ease some civilian suffering.

In the 15-member UNSC, the resolution was co-authored by Australia and Luxembourg calling for an immediate end to all forms of violence in the country and strongly condemned the rise of Al Qaida-affiliated terror.


Highlights of Resolution

The Resolution demanded that all parties (in particular the Syrian authorities) will  promptly allow rapid, safe and unhindered humanitarian access for UN humanitarian agencies and their implementing partners, including across conflict lines and across borders.

It strongly condemned the widespread violations of human rights and international humanitarian law by the Syrian authorities. And also urged all parties involved in the conflict to lift sieges of populated areas including in Aleppo, Damascus and Rural Damascus, and Homs.

It also stressed the importance of medical neutrality and demanded the demilitarization of medical facilities, schools and other civilian facilities.

The general secretary will submit a report to the members every 30 days from the adaption of resolution specifying progress made towards the resolution’s implementation.

The resolution emphasized that the humanitarian situation will continue to deteriorate in the absence of a political solution and expressed support for the UN-sponsored direct talks between Government and opposition representatives.

About UNSC

The Security Council is one of the six main organs established under the UN Charter, headquarters at New York, US. The United Nations gives primary responsibility for maintaining international peace and security to the Security Council.

The Security Council shall consist of fifteen Members of the United Nations. The Republic of China, France, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of America shall be permanent members of the Security Council.

The General Assembly will elect ten other members of the United Nations to be non-permanent members of the Security Council. The non-permanent members of the Security Council shall be elected for a term of two years.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

3 + 0 =