US exempted India and China from Iranian Sanctions

Nov 30, 2013 10:17 IST

United States of America on 29 November 2013 exempted some countries, including India and China, from the tough Iranian sanctions for reducing their dependence on Iranian oil.

Secretary of State, John Kerry announced in a statement in Washington that other countries which have significantly reduced the purchases of Iranian crude oil are the Republic of Korea, Turkey, and Taiwan and these have qualified for an exception to sanctions under the National Defence Authorisation Act.

This move came after the decision made by US President Barack Obama that there is sufficient supply of non-Iranian oil for countries to continue to reduce import of oil from Iran.

This is the fourth time that these countries have qualified for an NDAA exception as a result of their continued significant reductions in the volume of crude oil purchases from Iran or their end to such purchases.

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Quick Digest

Who: US

Where: Washington , US

What: Iranian Sanctions

When: 29 November 2013

Is this article important for exams ? Yes10 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Iranian Sanctions

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK