US President Obama signed a new law imposing sanctions against North Korea

Feb 19, 2016 13:00 IST

United States (US) President Barack Obama on 18 February 2016 signed off a new law imposing new sanctions against North Korea. The new law is titled North Korea Sanctions and Policy Enhancement Act of 2016.

The new law prescribing sanctions is aimed at punishing North Korea for its provocative recent nuclear test and rocket launch.

The law was passed by the US Congress on 12 February 2016 after North Korea refused to stop its nuclear programme.

South Korea's Parliament adopted a resolution denouncing DPRK's fourth nuclear test

The law calls for imposing mandatory sanctions on those assisting Pyongyang due to its nuclear and missile programs, cyberattacks, human rights abuses and imports of luxury goods.

The sanctions also aim at chocking off sources of cash for the regime by sanctioning trade in coal, minerals and precious metals. It blacklists those helping Pyongyang's money laundering, counterfeiting, cash smuggling and narcotics trafficking.

Pyongyang in January 2016 earned a global rebuke when it announced it had successfully tested a hydrogen bomb.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes10 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: US , Obama , North Korea , US sanctions on Korea , nuclear programme , Pyongyang

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK