V Purushothaman, the Mizoram Governor resigned

Former Governor of Mizoram Vakkom Purushothaman, who was transferred to Nagaland resigned within a week after being transferred.

Jul 11, 2014 15:55 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Vakkom Purushothaman, the former Governor of Mizoram who was transferred to Nagaland resigned on 11 July 2014. His resignation came within a week after the President transferred him from Mizoram.

Purushothaman was sworn-in as the Mizoram Governor on 2 September 2011. The President of India, Pranab Mukherjee on 6 July 2014 did gubernatorial reshuffle in which Gujarat Governor Kamla Beniwal was transferred to Mizoram and Purushothaman to Nagaland.

Purushothaman is the sixth governor to resign after Bharat Vir Wanchoo (Goa), MK Narayanan (West Bengal), BL Joshi (Uttar Pradesh), Shekhar Dutt (Chhattisgarh) and Ashwani Kumar (Nagaland) after the new government took power at the Centre.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए