West Zone won cricket's Deodhar Trophy 2014

West Zone defeated North Zone to win the Deodhar Trophy of Cricket 2014 in Visakhapatnam by a margin of 133 runs.

Created On: Mar 28, 2014 10:10 ISTModified On: Mar 28, 2014 10:16 IST

West Zone on 27 March 2014 won the cricket's Deodhar Trophy 2014. They lifted the trophy after defeating North Zone in the Day-Night final at Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam by a margin of 133 runs.
North Zone, while chasing a score of 282 runs to win, was all out on 148 in 37.1 over.

Captain of West Zone – Cheteshwar Pujara
Captain of North Zone – Harbhajan Singh

About Prof. D B Deodhar Trophy
Deodhar Trophy is a 50-over over inter zonal knockout Indian domestic cricket tournament. The one-day zonal championship, established in 1980s has been named after Prof. D. B. Deodhar (Dinkar Balwant Deodhar born on 14 January 1892 in Poona (now Pune), Maharashtra), who is known as the Grand Old Man of Indian cricket. The tournament is annually played among five zonal teams namely North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone.

Deodhar as an Indian cricketer, never played any test matches, as he was considered too old in 1932, the year when India played its first Test match.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

2 + 3 =