1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs |  

World Badminton Championship: Saina became 1st Indian shuttler to win silver medal

Aug 17, 2015 08:32 IST

India’s ace shuttler Saina Nehwal on 16 August 2015 became the first Indian to win silver in the World Badminton Championship.

She lost the women's singles summit clash to Spain's Carolina Marin 16-21, 19-21 in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Olympic bronze medallist Saina had reached the finals of the event on 15 August 2015 by defeating Indonesia's Lindaweni Fanetri.

This was India's fifth medal at the World Championship.  Following are the Indian medal winners at the World Badminton Championships which started in 1977. Legendary shuttler Prakash Padukone was the first Indian to win a bronze at the 1983 edition.

The following are the Indian medal winners at the World Badminton Championships which started in 1977
• Silver at 2015 Jakarta: Saina Nehwal (women's singles)
• Bronze at 2014 Copenhagen: PV Sindhu (women's singles)
• Bronze at 2013 Guangzhou (China): PV Sindhu (women's singles)
• Bronze at 2011 London: Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa (women's doubles)
• Bronze at 1983 Copenhagen: Prakash Padukone (men's singles)

Is this article important for exams ? Yes46 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Saina Nehwal , Carolina Marin , World Badminton Championship

DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK