List of 10 fastest Centuries in ODIs

List of 10 fastest Centuries in ODIs: The fastest century in the ODI history was scored by AB de Villiers off 31 balls against West Indies 18 January 2015. New Zealand's Corey Anderson is on number two with a 36 ball century against West Indies on 1 January 2014 while Pakistan's Shahid Afridi Pakistan is on number three with his 37 ball century against Sri Lanka on 4 October 1996.
Fastest ODI Scorers
Fastest ODI Scorers

India's Sachin Tendulkar is the 'century king' in International Cricket. He has scored 100 centuries in international cricket. Ricky Ponting is at number two position in terms of the highest number of centuries. Ponting has scored 41 test centuries and 30 in the ODI centuries. Indian veteran cricketer Virat Kohli is on the third position with 68 International centuries.

The current fastest century record holder is AB de Villiers who scored the ODI century in just 31 balls against West Indies in 2015.

Do you know?

The first One Day International (ODI) century was scored by Denis Amiss scoring 103 runs against Australia at Old Trafford in the year 1972. 

India vs Australia 2020-21 Series: Full Schedule, Dates, Timings, Venues, Formats and Squads


Let’s have a look at the list of fastest century scorers in the ODIs.




1. AB de Villiers (RSA)

31 balls/ 149


2. Corey Anderson (NZ)

36 balls/ 131*


3. Shahid Afridi (PAK)

37 balls/ 102


4. Mark Boucher (RSA)

44 balls/ 147*


5. Brian Lara (WI)

45 balls/117


6. Shahid Afridi (PAK)

45 balls/102


7. JD Ryder (NZ)

46 balls/104


8. JC Buttler (ENG)

46 balls/116


9. ST Jayasuriya (SL)

48 balls/134


10. JC Buttler (ENG)

50 balls/110



Century in Cricket

In cricket, the term century means a score of 100 or above in a single innings by a batsman. Century partnership is when two batsmen add 100 runs to the team total while batting together in a single innings. 

Other facts related to century in International Cricket

1. Virat Kohli has scored his fastest century off 52 balls against Australia in 2013. This is the fastest century by any Indian cricketer in the ODIs.

2. After Virat Kohli, Virendra Sehwag is the next Indian cricketer to have scored a century off 60 balls. Sehwag scored his fastest and second fastest Indian century against New Zealand in 2009.

3. The fastest century in Test cricket is scored by Brendon McCullum. He scored 100 runs off 54 balls against Australia at Christchurch, New Zealand in 2016.

List of 20 fastest centuries in IPL history

4. Fastest century in the Twenty 20 international is scored by the David Miller of South Africa. He has scored a century in just 35 balls against Bangladesh on 29 October 2017. Rohit Sharma of India has also scored the T-20 century in just 35 balls against Sri Lanka on 22 December 2017.

5. Chris Gayle scored the fastest century in Twenty 20 in the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2013. He touched this milestone in just 30 balls.

So, this was the list of top 10 fastest centuries in the One Day International (ODI) matches. 

What is the history of the Ashes Series?

Virat Kohli's ODI Centuries: Complete List

Jagran Play
रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Comment (0)

Post Comment

4 + 9 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Related Categories