1. Home
  2. |  
  3. CBSE Board |  

CBSE Includes Four More North-Eastern Languages In The CBSE Curriculum From 2015

Feb 11, 2015 14:56 IST

    As per the demand of the students from north eastern part of India, who were asking for an opportunity to read their mother tongue at a higher level, the Central Board of Secondary Education has decided to include four languages from Sikkim. Other than the three languages, Bhutia, Lepcha, and Limboo, which have already been included in the CBSE curriculum, four more languages, Rai, Gurung, Sherpa, and Tamang  will be part of the CBSE curriculum from the new session. So, overall seven North-eastern languages have been included in the syllabus. Inclusion of different regional languages will assist the  scholars to carry their research and literary work to another stage.

    CBSE has also allotted subject codes to the four languages. These are: 131 for Rai, 132 for Gurung, 133 for Tamang, and 134 for Sherpa. Taking a step further, the State Human Resource Development has already submitted draft text books to CBSE for the languages to be included. It has also sent the list of the qualified candidates for teaching the languages at a higher level.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK

    Register to view Complete PDF