Grading System of CBSE Board

The CCE system for grading comprises formative and summative assessment of the student to be done over two terms – first and second -during the year-long academic calendar.

Created On: Sep 2, 2015 17:43 IST
Modified On: Jun 17, 2016 15:44 IST

From the year 2010, the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) has introduced Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE) system for grading Class X students which is actually a nine-point scale grading system wherein students are required to get qualifying grades in four of the five subjects so as to get promoted to the next level.

The CCE system for grading comprises formative and summative assessment of the student to be done over two terms – first and second -during the year-long academic calendar.

Summative Assessment: Based on the term-end examination

1. There will be two evaluations each in the first and second terms.

2. The first term-end exam will carry 20 marks.

3. The second term-end exam will carry 40 marks.

Formative Assessment: To evaluate and grade class work, homework, assignment and project work.

1. There will be one term-end exam for each term.

2. Each evaluation will carry 10 marks apiece.

The minimum qualifying grade for passing the exam is grade D. Students getting E1 or E2 grades, will have to sit for re-examination within a month.

Now the board will not mention pass or fail on the mark sheets of students and the students will get four opportunities to improve on their grades within a period of two years from their last exam.

The board now also adds Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) in the Statement of Subject wise Performance /Certificate of Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation.

The below given table will give you a fair idea how grading system works:



Grade Points

























20 and below



A Brief insight to the CBSE Grading System:

1. All the students will now be awarded grades, not marks.

2. The board now will not declare Compartment/Fail for any students securing low marks, it has been discontinued.

3. The result of candidates is now declared in two categories:

     (i) Eligible for qualifying certificate (QUAL) and

    (ii) Eligible for improvement of performance (EIOP)

4. Candidates will now get five chances to improve their performance without having to repeat a year.

How the CCE Scheme is going to help the students?

1. The new grading system will help in reducing pressure and nervousness among students which often builds up during and after the examination and usually ends up with an adverse impact and the students find difficult to cope with it in an adolescent age of just 13-15 years.

2. The students will have more time in their hands to develop their interests, hobbies and personalities.

3. The prominence on conceptual clarification through experimental and pragmatic learning in the classroom will increase since there will be more time available for completion of curriculum.

4. The new CCE scheme will enable the students, parents and teachers to make a well-versed choice about subjects to be taken in Class XI and setting a career goal with the choice of subjects.

5. It will also help in the reduction of dropout rate as there will be less fear and fretfulness related to excellence and performance

6. Now there will be greater focus on learning rather than teaching to the test. As it is being seen in the past that there was practice to often finish the entire syllabus much before time and follow it up with Pre-Board(s) and study leave.

7. The new CCE system will stimulate learning in a friendly environment rather than in a fearful situation which directly or indirectly equip students with Life Skills especially Creative and Critical thinking skills, social skills and coping skills which in turn will help them in developing confidence when they enter into a highly competitive environment in future.

To get different queries and answer about CBSE exams, Click Here

Jagran Play
रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
Comment (0)

Post Comment

9 + 3 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.