4 MoUs signed under ‘Adopt a Heritage’ Scheme: Culture Ministry

Jun 20, 2018 16:59 IST
4 MoUs signed under ‘Adopt a Heritage’ Scheme: Culture Ministry

Four Memorandums of Understanding (MoU) have been signed under ‘Adopt a Heritage’ scheme and six more are at an advanced stage. The information was shared by Raghvendra Singh, Secretary, Ministry of Culture on June 19, 2018.

The scheme, implemented by the Ministry of Tourism, Ministry of Culture and Archaeological Survey of India, is reported to be making good progress. Around 31 more Adarsh Monuments have been enlisted for coverage under the scheme.

The four MoUs include:

1. Mount Stok Kangri Trek Route, Ladakh: The MoU for adoption was signed between Ministry of Tourism, Adventure Tour Operators Association of India (ATOAI) and the state government of Jammu & Kashmir.

2. Gangotri Temple Area & Trail to Gaumukh, Uttarakhand: The MoU was signed between Ministry of Tourism, ATOAI and Uttarakhand Government.

3. Red Fort, Delhi: The MoU was signed between Ministry of Tourism, Ministry of Culture, ASI and Dalmia Bharat Limited.

4. Gandikota Fort, Andhra Pradesh:  The MoU was signed between Ministry of Tourism, Ministry of Culture, ASI and Dalmia Bharat Limited.

Objectives of ‘Adopt a Heritage’ Project

Developing basic tourism infrastructure in and around heritage monuments and any other tourist sites.

Creating inclusive tourist experience for heritage site/monument or tourist site.

Promoting cultural and heritage value of the country to generate livelihood for the local communities living around the identified heritage sites.

Enhancing the tourist attractiveness in a sustainable manner by developing world-class infrastructure at heritage site/monument or tourist site.

Creating employment through active involvement of local communities.

Harnessing tourism potential for its effects in employment generation and economic development.

Developing sustainable tourism infrastructure and ensuring proper Operations and Maintenance therein.

Key Highlights

The Adopt a Heritage project aims to develop synergy among all partners to effectively promote ‘responsible tourism’.

It aims to involve public sector companies, private sector companies and corporate citizens/individuals to take up the responsibility to make India’s heritage and tourism more sustainable through development, operation and maintenance of world-class tourist infrastructure and amenities at ASI/ State heritage sites and other important tourist sites.

The selected agency would become ‘Monument Mitras’ through the innovative concept of “Vision Bidding”, where the agency with the best vision for the heritage site will be given an opportunity to associate pride with their CSR activities.

They would also get limited visibility in the premises and the Incredible India website. The aim is to enhance enhancement of tourist experience and promote the incredible heritage sites, in order to bring them on the tourism map.

The Government has carried out 'Critical Gap' analysis in respect of the heritage monuments of importance and has identified public conveniences and civic amenities that can be provided in these monuments with the involvement of corporate sector and PSUs under the CSR activities to enhance the visitor experience.

 4 MoUs signed under ‘Adopt a Heritage’ Scheme: Culture Ministry

The project mainly focuses to provide:

- Basic amenities such as public conveniences, drinking water, cleanliness, ease of access for differently abled and senior citizens, standardised signage and illumination.

- Advanced amenities such as surveillance system, night viewing facilities and tourism facilitation center.

- Enhanced tourism experience that will result in more tourist footfall, both domestic and foreign.

Several agencies including public, private, individuals, schools and law firms have come forward to adopt heritage moments falling under the project.

Under the project a total of 31 agencies have been approved, so far, to adopt a total of 95 monuments located across India.

About Adopt Heritage Project


This project is a key initiative of Ministry of Tourism in close collaboration with Ministry of Culture and Archeological Survey of India (ASI), to develop heritage sites and monuments and make them tourist-friendly to enhance the tourism potential and their cultural importance in a planned and phased manner.

How many monuments have been identified under the project?

While the list of active projects for adoption under Phase I included 14, Phase II included 22 and Phase III included 20.

The list of heritage sites will get amended in further phases of the project.

Who is a Monument Mitra?

Successful bidders selected for adopting heritage sites/monuments by the Oversight and Vision Committee shall be called as Monument Mitras.

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) will be signed between the Monument Mitra, Ministry of Tourism, Ministry of Culture, Archaeological Survey of India and the concerned stakeholder from the state.


Read More Current Affairs

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK