1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

8 Indian Soldiers posthumously awarded with prestigious Dag Hammarskjold Medal of UN

May 31, 2014 11:50 IST

UN secretary General Ban Ki-moon on 29 May 2014 awarded the prestigious Dag Hammarskjold medal to the eight Indian soldiers, who lost their lives in peacekeeping operations in 2013. They were awarded along with the other 98 UN peacekeepers who lost their lives during service in 2013.

It was awarded at the annual celebration of International Day of UN Peacekeepers on 29 May 2014. The ceremony was attended by India's Permanent Representative to the UN Ambassador Asoke Kumar Mukerji and he accepted the medal on behalf of the eight Indian soldiers.

The eight Indian soldiers are  Lt Col Mahipal Singh; Lance Naik Nand Kishore Joshi;  Havildar Heera Lal;  Naib Subedar Shiv Kumar Pal and Havildar Bharat Sasmal; Subedar Dharmesh Sangwan; Subedar Kumar Pal Singh; Sepoy Rameshwar Singh.

About Dag Hammarskjold Medal

The Dag Hammarskjold Medal is named after the second UN secretary general and is awarded annually on 29 May, which is commemorated as the International Day of UN peacekeepers.

The Dag Hammarskjold Medal was established in December 2000 and is awarded posthumously to members of peacekeeping operations who lost their lives during service.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes105 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK