1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Air India won Guru Tegh Bahadur Hockey title after 7 years

Aug 28, 2015 11:00 IST

Air India's Hockey team on 27 August 2015 won the Guru Tegh Bahadur Hockey title. In the finals played at the MHA-Mahindra Stadium in Mumbai, Air India defeated defending champions Army XI 3-1 via the penalty shoot-out after the two teams were deadlocked goalless in regular play.

Air India regained the title after seven years. Last time, it won the title in 2008.

Air India's goalkeeper Adrian D'Souza won the Player of the final Award from the tournament's organizers, Mumbai Hockey Association Limited. Army’s goalkeeper Najmudeen was declared as the Best Goalkeeper in the tournament.

The winning team got 1.5 lakh rupees, while the runners-up received 75000 rupees.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK