1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Chemical scientists Susanta Lahiri and Kattesh V Katti received Hevesy Medal Award 2015

Apr 16, 2015 11:00 IST

Professors Susanta Lahiri and Kattesh V. Katti received Hevesy Medal Award 2015 for their outstanding contributions in the fields of radio and nuclear chemistry.

The awards were presented to them on 12 April 2015 at the Tenth International Conference on Methods and Applications of Radio-analytical Chemistry held in USA.

Susanta Lahiri is a Professor at Chemical Sciences Division, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics in Kolkata. He won the award for his contributions to heavy ion induced radioisotope production, converter targets, green chemistry and tracer packet technique. He is also credited with co-creating Ununseptium chemical element (atomic number 117) in collaboration with other national and international scientists.

Kattesh V. Katti is a professor at the Cedntre for Radiological Research, University of Missouri in Columbia, the US. His research interests in the domain of Nano Science and Technology include exploring chemical, biophysical, magnetic and photo physical properties, which are unique to specific nanoparticulates, toward the design and development of sophisticated diagnostic and therapeutic agents.

The Hevesy Medal Award 2014 was presented to Heino Nitsche of University of California in recognition of his international contributions to heavy element chemistry and actinide environmental chemistry.

About Hevesy Medal Award
• The award is the premier international award of excellence honouring outstanding achievements in radio and nuclear chemistry.
• It is named after chemical scientist George de Hevesy (1885-1966), who received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1943 for his work on the use of isotopes as tracers in the study of chemical processes.
• The award was established in 1968 by the Editor-in-Chief and the (then) publishers of the Journal of Radioanalytical and Nuclear Chemistry (JRNC).
• It comprises an engraved bronze medal (in a presentation case) and an ornamental scroll, which are presented at a major international radiochemical conference occurring in the year of the award. The Hevesy Medal Award has no monetary value.
• The Hevesy Medal was awarded to nineteen eminent scientists between 1968 and 1986. After an interval of 14 years, the Award was reactivated in 2000.
• The International Committee on Activation Analysis of the Modern Trends in Activation Analysis Conferences (ICAA-MTAA) is currently responsible for administration of the award.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes39 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Susanta Lahiri , Kattesh V Katti , Hevesy Medal Award 2015

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK