1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

FC Barcelona won 2015 UEFA Champions League title

Jun 11, 2015 11:00 IST

FC Barcelona won the 2015 Champions League title on 6 June 2015 by defeating Juventus FC 3-1 in the final match held at the Berlin’s Olympic Stadium in Germany.

While, Ivan Rakitic, Luis Suarez and Neymar scored goals for Barcelona, Alvaro Morato scored the lone goal for Juventus.

In the summit clash, Barcelona, a Spanish club, was led by Andres Iniesta and Juventus, an Italian club was led by Gianluigi Buffon.

This was the fifth time Barcelona has been crowned with the title and their fourth in the last decade after their victories in 2006, 2009 and 2011.

With the present win, Barcelona became the first Spanish club to win the European treble in a single season for two times having won the Europa League and Spanish League titles in the 2014-15 season. Earlier, the team won all the three titles in the 2008-09 season.

Following their 2009 treble, Barcelona joined Celtic, Ajax, PSV Eindhoven, Manchester United, Inter Milan and Bayern Munich on the exclusive list of teams to have won the treble.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: FC Barcelona , 2015 UEFA Champions League title , Juventus FC

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK