1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Fifth Normandy Group Foreign Ministers meet held in Berlin

Apr 15, 2015 15:00 IST

Normandy Four: Germany, France, Ukraine and Russia

The term Normandy Group was in news because the fifth meeting of the foreign ministers of the group members was held on 13 April 2015 in Berlin, the capital of Germany.

Normandy Group or Normandy Quartet is a group of four countries including Russia, France, Germany and Ukraine.

The group was formed to facilitate a diplomatic resolution to the ongoing conflict between the Ukraine Army and pro-Russia forces in the Donbass region of Ukraine.

It was formed on 6 June 2014 after an informal meeting of the four heads of state on the sidelines of commemoration of the seventieth anniversary of D Day in Normandy, France.

From time to time, the group reviews the progress in implementing the truce pact, which came into force on 15 February 2015. The pact was reached in the Belarusian city of Minsk between pro-Russia forces and Ukraine to end the conflict.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes13 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Normandy Group , Normandy Quartet , Conflict in Ukraine

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK