First-time TMC MPs Nusrat Jahan, Mimi Chakraborty take oath as Lok Sabha members

The first-time parliamentarians, TMC MPs Nusrat Jahan Ruhi and Mimi Chakraborty take oath as members of the 17th Lok Sabha.

Created On: Jun 25, 2019 17:17 IST
Nusrat Jahan, Mimi Chakraborty take oath as Lok Sabha MPs
Nusrat Jahan, Mimi Chakraborty take oath as Lok Sabha MPs

The first-time parliamentarians, TMC MPs Nusrat Jahan Ruhi Jain and Mimi Chakraborty took oath as members of the 17th Lok Sabha on June 25, 2019. Both the actresses were not present on the day that the oath of the office was administered to all the Lok Sabha MPs, due to Nusrat Jahan’ s wedding.

Nusrat Jahan recently got married to a Hindu businessman Nikhil Jain in Turkey and Mimi Chakraborty was a guest in the ceremony, due to which both the actresses missed taking oath along with the other MPs during the first session of the 17th Lok Sabha.

So, as soon as the Lok Sabha convened for the day, the two actresses took oath as first-time MPs in Bangla. Both of them ended their oath by saying “Jai Hind, Vande Mataram and Jai Bangla”. The two later touched Lok Speaker Om Birla’s feet before taking their seat.

Nusrat Jahan wins from Basirhat

TMC's new face Nusrat Jahan beat other Tollywood bigwigs to win Basirhat parliamentary constituency with the highest vote margin among celebs. The actress won the seat by over 3.5 lakh votes.

The former beauty contest winner was fielded against BJP’s Sayantan Basu, Congress’ Quazi Abdur Rahim and Pallab Sengupta of CPI.

Mimi Chakraborty wins from Jadavpur

Mimi Chakraborty, the popular Bengali TV star won Jadavpur parliamentary constituency by over 2.9 lakh votes. Chakraborty was fielded from the seat by the West Bengal CM to take on BJP bigwig Anupam Hazra.

Tollywood Stars Babul Supriyo, Dev, Nusrat Jahan, Mimi Chakraborty, Satabdi Roy script huge victories in Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

4 + 9 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all