1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Hockey India conferred inaugural Hockey India Annual Awards

Mar 30, 2015 18:50 IST

Hockey India on 28 March 2015 conferred the inaugural Hockey India Annual Awards. The awards were conferred to recognise the dedication and hard work of hockey players, coaches and administrators on the field to build the sport on the national and international arena.

The awards of over 2.80 Crore rupees were presented in a ceremony at New Delhi in the presence of Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports, Sarbananda Sonowal.

Hockey India conferred the awards in the categories of Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award to Balbir Singh Sr. with a cash prize of 3000000 rupees.

List of Awards

• The Dhruv Batra Award for Player of the Year (Men and Women) awarded to Birendra Lakra and Vandana Katariya.

• Jaman Lal Sharma Award for Invaluable Contribution (for coaches and support staff) awarded to Harendra Singh.

• Hockey India President Award for Outstanding Achievement conferred to One Thousand Hockey Legs for its exceptional contribution towards the sport.

Six awards named after players who represented India in the past included:

• The Jugraj Singh Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Men – Under 21) awarded to Harmanpreet Singh.

• Asunta Lakra Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Women – Under 21) to Namita Toppo

• Baljit Singh Award for Goalkeeper of the Year awarded to PR Sreejesh

• Pargat Singh Award for Defender of the Year to Deepika

• Ajit Pal Singh Award for Midfielder of the Year given to Manpreet Singh and

• Dhanraj Pillay Award for Forward of the Year awarded to Akashdeep Singh

Is this article important for exams ? Yes37 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Hockey India Awards , Hockey India Annual Awards

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK