How to vote in Uttarakhand: Lok Sabha Elections-2019 for 5 seats

To know how to vote in Uttarakhand, details of Lok Sabha seats and guidelines can assist voter to understand constituency.

Created On: Apr 11, 2019 10:03 ISTModified On: Apr 18, 2019 10:03 IST
Uttarakhand map

Residents of Uttarakhand has already done their voting in first phase of Lok Sabha Elections-2019 on April 11, 2019 for all five seats. Uttarakhand state was separated from UP in year 2000 and became 22nd state of India. Major political parties in Uttarakhand's political scenario are the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Indian National Congress (INC). Uttarakhand’s only regional party is Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD) and it is contesting in all five seats. To know how to vote in Uttarakhand, it is important to understand parliamentary constituencies of the state.

Parliamentary constituencies in Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand has five Lok Sabha seats in the Parliament. Two from Kumaon divison and three from Garhwal. Parliamentary Constituencies in Uttarakhand are:

  1. Nainital – Udham Singh Nagar
  2. Almora (SC)
  3. Tehri Garhwal
  4. Garhwal
  5. Haridwar

To know how to vote in Uttarakhand, details of Lok Sabha seats in Uttarakhand will assist voter to understand constituency. At present all five seats are held by BJP while Congress is main opposition party. In year 2017 assembly elections BJP won 57 out of 70 seats while Congress won 11 seats only.

Constituency: Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar

Current MP: Bhagat Singh Koshyari (BJP)

Polling date: April 11

Counting date: May 23

Constituency: Almora

Current MP: Ajay Tamta (BJP)

Polling date: April 11

Counting day: May 23

Constituency: Tehri Garhwal

Current MP: Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah (BJP)

Polling date: April 11

BJP candidate: Mala Rajya Laxmi

Constituency: Garhwal

Current MP: Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri (BJP)

Polling date: April 11

Counting date: May 23

Constituency: Haridwar

Current MP: Ramesh Pokhriyal (BJP)

Polling date: April 11

Counting date: May 23

How to vote at Polling Booth

  • First polling official will check your name on the voter list and check your ID proof
  • Second polling official will ink your finger, give you a slip and take your signature on a register (Form 17A)
  • You will have to deposit the slip at the third polling official and show your inked finger and then proceed to the polling booth
  • Record your vote by pressing the ballot button opposite the symbol of the candidate of your choice on the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM); You will hear a beep sound
  • Check the slip that appears in the transparent window of the VVPAT machine. The slip with the Candidate serial No., Name and Symbol shall be visible for 7 seconds before it drops in the sealed VVPAT box
  • You can press NOTA, None of the Above, if you don't like any candidate; it's the last button on the EVM
  • Mobile phones, cameras or any other gadget is not allowed inside a polling booth.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

2 + 4 =