IMD releases new list of 169 tropical cyclones names

The newly released list by IMD has 13 names each from the 13 member countries, including India,  of the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO).

Apr 30, 2020 14:21 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

The India Meteorological Department (IMD) has released a new list consisting of 169 names of future tropical cyclones that would emerge in the Arabian Sea and Bay of Bengal. The list was released by IMD on April 28.

The newly released list has 13 names each from the 13 member countries, including India,  of the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO).

IMD is one of the six Regional Specialised Meteorological Centres (RSMC) in the world. It is mandatory for the department to issue advisories and name tropical cyclones in the north Indian Ocean region.


As per the IMD, naming the tropical cyclones helps the scientific community, media, disaster managers and general masses to identify the cyclone. Any tropical cyclone that will hit the region will be known by a name given in the list.

It creates awareness of its development and removes confusion in the case of Tropical Cyclones occur simultaneously over the region. It helps in disseminating warnings to a much wider audience.

Key Highlights:

•  The India Meteorological Department is one of the six RSMC in the world. All over the world, there are six RMSC’s and five Tropical Cyclone Warning Centres that perform the duty of issuing advisories regarding the cyclones.

•  The department issues advisories to 13 member countries of WMO/ESCAP (United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific).

•  During the 45th session of WMO/ESCAP in September 2018, the need for preparing a fresh list of the cyclones was tabled. The session was hosted in Oman.

•  The list was presented by IMD chief in September 2019 during the meeting held in Myanmar. The list has been approved recently.

•  Since Amphan was the name from the previous list which was not used, it will be considered among the names in the new list.

•  Some other names on the list include Arnab, Biparjoy, and Upakul. It also includes Nisarga (Bangladesh) and Nivar (Iran).

13 Cyclone names suggested by India:

•  Gati

•  Tej

•  Murasu

•  Aag

•  Vyom

•  Jhar

•  Probaho

•  Neer

•  Prabhajan

•  Ghurni

•  Ambud

•  Jaladhi

•  Vega

13 member nations of WMO are:

•  India

•  Bangladesh

•  Iran

•  Myanmar

•  Maldives

•  Pakistan

•  Oman

•  Qatar

•  Saudi Arabia

•  Sri Lanka

•  Thailand

•  United Arab Emirates

•  Yemen

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप