India joins Ashgabat agreement

Feb 2, 2018 09:30 IST
India joins Ashgabat agreement

India on February 1, 2018 joined the Ashgabat agreement, which envisages the establishment of an international transport and transit corridor linking Central Asia with the Persian Gulf to significantly ramp up trade and investment.

The agreement was originally signed on April 25, 2011, among the four founding members - Iran, Oman, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan with an aim to set up a trade and transit corridor between them.

The External Affairs Ministry in its official release stated that Turkmenistan, as depository state of Ashgabat agreement, informed India on Feb 1 that all the four founding members have consented to the accession of India to the agreement.

According to the Ministry, India’s accession to the agreement would diversify India's connectivity options with Central Asia and have a positive influence on India's trade and commercial ties with the region.

India’s accession to the agreement will come into force on February 3, 2018. India had deposited the Instrument of Accession with Turkmenistan in April 2016 after receiving approval from the Union Cabinet.

About Ashgabat Agreement

• The agreement is a Multimodal transport agreement between founding members Oman, Iran, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

• The main objective of the agreement is to create an international transport and transit corridor facilitating transportation of goods between Central Asia and the Persian Gulf.

• In October 2016, Pakistan had formally joined the Ashgabat Agreement in addition to the Lapis Lazuli corridor. Kazakhstan is also a part of the arrangement.

• The Indian government on March 23, 2016 had requested approval for acceding to the agreement.

• The accession to the agreement would enable India to utilise the transport and transit corridor to facilitate trade and commercial interaction with the Eurasian region.

• Further, this would synchronise with India’s efforts to implement the International North South Transport Corridor (INSTC) for enhanced connectivity.

India becomes member of Australia Group

Wassenaar Arrangement to admit India as its new Member

Quick Digest

Who: India

What: Joins Ashgabat agreement

When: February 1 , 2018

Is this article important for exams ? Yes14 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK