Iraq Ratified Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT)

Iraq Government on 27 September 2013 ratified the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT).

Created On: Sep 28, 2013 13:02 IST

Iraq Government on 27 September 2013 ratified the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) at 68th session of UN General Assembly at New York, US.

Iraq's ratification of the treaty raised the number of countries that have adhered fully to the treaty to 161.

To enter into force, the CTBT must be signed and ratified by 44 specific states, only 36 of which have done so including France, Russia and Britain. The remaining eight are China, the United States, India, Pakistan and North Korea; Israel, widely believed to have atomic weapons; Iran, suspected of wanting them; and Egypt.

About Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT)

  1. The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty was adopted by the United Nations General Assembly as a resolution (A/RES/50/245) on 10 September 1996.
  2. The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) bans nuclear explosions by everyone, everywhere: on the Earth's surface, in the atmosphere, underwater and underground. So far 183 States have signed the Treaty of which 161 have now also ratified it.
  3. The Treaty establishes a CTBT Organization (CTBTO), located in Vienna, Austria to ensure the implementation of its provisions, including those provisions for international verification measures


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

2 + 6 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all