Leicester City crowned English Premier League champions for 1st time in 132-year history

May 3, 2016 11:38 IST

Premier-  LeagueLeicester City was crowned as champions of English Premier League on 2 May 2016. It was crowned with the title without playing, as nearest challenger Tottenham Hotspur had 2-2 draw with Chelsea.

The result meant second placed Tottenham will not be able to surpass Leicester City who has a seven point lead at the top of the table.

This is the first time in the club’s 132-year history that Leicester is champion of England.

Leicester City completed their contest for the Premier League title after Eden Hazard's late goal enabled Chelsea a draw with second-place Tottenham Hotspur.

Premier League
The Premier League is an English professional league for men's association football clubs. At the top of the English football league system, it is the country's primary football competition.

The league is a corporation in which the 20 member clubs act as shareholders. Seasons run from August to May.

Contested by 20 clubs, it operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the Football League. Welsh clubs that compete in the English football league system can also qualify.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes8 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK