Jagran Josh Logo
  1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs |  

Liverpool striker Luis Suarez named as Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year

Apr 29, 2014 09:09 IST

Luis Suarez, the Uruguayan striker of Liverpool was named as the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year at an award ceremony on 28 April 2014 in London. Suarez is the first non-European to be awarded with the prize.

Eden Hazard of Chelsea was voted as the Young Player of the Year.

Among the women players, Lucy Bronze of Liverpool was named as the Women's Players' Player of the Year. Her team mate Martha Harris was voted the Young Player of the Year.

At present, Suarez is the top scorer of the Premier League season with 30 goals, even after missing six games at the start of the season. He missed the six games of the league following 10-match ban for biting Branislav Ivanovic of Chelsea in April 2013.

Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Player of the Year winners
• 2013-14: Luis Suarez (Liverpool)
• 2012-13: Gareth Bale (Tottenham)
• 2011-12: Robin van Persie (Arsenal)
• 2010-11: Gareth Bale (Tottenham)
• 2009-10: Wayne Rooney  (Manchester United)
• 2008-09: Ryan Giggs (Manchester United)
• 2007-08: Cristiano Ronaldo  (Manchester United)

Is this article important for exams ? Yes33 People Agreed

DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

Newsletter Signup
Follow us on
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK