1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Mathematician Amalendu Krishna won 2015 Ramanujan Prize

Aug 5, 2015 15:43 IST

Mathematician Doctor Amalendu Krishna on 3 August 2015 won the Ramanujan Prize for year 2015. He was bestowed with this award for his outstanding contributions in the area of algebraic cycles, algebraic K-theory and the theory of motives.

Presently, Krishna is a mathematician professor at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai.

He hails from Bihar and had completed his early college and schooling from there itself. From 2001 til 2004, he taught mathematics as the Hedrick Assistant Professor at the University of California at Los Angeles.

Krishna is the second Indian to win this award, first was Sujatha Ramadorai who had won the award in 2006.

About Ramanujan Prize
• Constituted in 2005, the award is named after the noted Indian mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan.
• The award recognizes a researcher from a developing country who has conducted outstanding research in a developing country and is less than 45 years of age.
• It is awarded jointly by Italy based International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Department of Science and Technology (DoST) of India and the International Mathematical Union (IMU).
• The award carries a citation and a monetary prize of 15000  US dollars.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes61 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Mathematician Amalendu Krishna , 2015 , Ramanujan Prize

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK