1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton of Britain won 2015 Formula 1 British Grand Prix title

Jul 6, 2015 09:00 IST

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton of Britain on 5 July 2015 secured the 2015 Formula 1 British Grand Prix title by winning the final race held at the Silverstone Circuit in Northamptonshire, England.

While his team Nico Rosberg stood second, Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel was in the third position. Both the drivers belong to Germany.

In the final race, Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) and Sergio Perez (Mexico) of Force India stood at seventh and ninth positions respectively.

With this win, Hamilton became the second British driver since David Coulthard in 1999-2000 to post successive wins in the race.

It was third British GP win for the reigning world champion and his fifth in the 2015 season having won the titles in Australia, China, Bahrain and Canada.

Hamilton has won more races compared to any other British driver in the history of Formula One and is currently 5th on the all-time list, with 38 wins.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes12 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK