National Front won the 13th General Elections of Malaysia by Simple Majority

May 6, 2013 18:49 IST

The National Front of Malaysia, that is led by Najib Razak on 5 May 2013 won by simple majority in the 13th General Elections to secure its 56-year hold on the power. The Barisan Nasional (National Front) Coalition secured 133 seats of the 22 member Parliament seats. This is the worst ever election performance of the National Front.

The opposition Pakatan Rakyat a three party alliance that is led by Anwar Ibrahim won 89 seats. The alliance was the toughest of all oppositions faced by the National Front till date. In 2008, the National Front won 135 seats of the 222 seats, the first time when the Najib’s Party lost two-third majority in the Parliament in its 56 years of journey. With this win Najib will get his second term in the office.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes6 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK