1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

North and South Zone Declared Joint Winners of Duleep Trophy

Oct 22, 2013 13:30 IST

North Zone and South Zone were declared joint winners of the Duleep Trophy 2013-14 after the fifth day's play of the final match was called off due to bad weather in Kochi on 21 October 2013.

Only 10 overs, on the second day on 18 October were possible in the five-day match as wet ground conditions at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium due to persistent rain played spoilsport. Harbhajan singh captained the North Zone team and South Zone led by Abhinav Mukund.

It was the fourth instance in the history of Duleep Trophy when the title has been shared. Previous instances were West Zone/South Zone in 1963-64), North Zone/West Zone in 1988-89 and Central Zone/West Zone in 1997-98.

East Zone won the Duleep Trophy in 2012-13 on the basis of their first innings lead against Central Zone at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

About Duleep Trophy

The Duleep Trophy (named after KS Duleepsinhji) was started by BCCI in 1961-62 as a zonal rather than a state first-class competition. The original format was that five teams, drawn from the five zones, played each other on a knock-out basis. From 1993-94 the competition converted to a league format.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes38 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Duleep Trophy

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK