PM Narendra Modi concluded his 6-nation tour to Russia and five Central Asian nations

During his eight-day visit, Modi met the leaders of the five nations namely Emomali Rahmon, Almazbek Atambaev, Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedov, Nursultan Nazarbayev, and Islam Karimov.

Created On: Jul 14, 2015 13:13 IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 13 January 2015 returned to India after his six-nation tour of Russia and five Central Asian countries namely Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan.

During his eight-day visit, which took place from 6 July to 13 July 2015, he met the leaders of the five nations namely President of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon, President of the Kyrgyz Republic Almazbek Atambaev, President of Turkmenistan Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedov, President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev, and President of Uzbekistan Islam Karimov.

During this visit, Modi also visited Russia and attended the 7th BRICS summit and 2015 Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) held in Ufa. These two events became the highlight of the visit after PM Modi met and held talks with his Pakistani counterpart Nawaz Sharif and some other leaders.

He flew back to India from Dushanbe the capital city of Tajikistan, which was the last stop of his visit.

Major highlights of this Russia and five-Central Asian countries
• Prime Minister Modi, during his stay in Ufa in Russia, attended the Summit of the five-nation BRICS, which focused on economic and security cooperation.
• He also attended the Summit of the six-member grouping, the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation, SCO, which decided to grant full membership to India along with Pakistan.
• On the sidelines of the Summit, Modi held a meeting with Pakistan Prime Minister during which a host of significant decisions were taken to improve ties. One major decision was to speed up the trial in Mumbai attack case, including providing of voice samples of the accused.
• India-Pakistan joint statement was released at Ufa, Russia
• Head of BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) nations on 9 July 2015 released the Ufa Declaration. The 7th BRICS was held under the theme ‘BRICS Partnership – a Powerful Factor of Global Development’.
• Russian Direct Investment Fund (RDIF) on 8 July 2015 signed framework agreements for equity investments in infrastructure projects in BRICS countries
• To boost cooperation within the members of the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa), Prime Minister Narendra Modi proposed a 10 point initiative named as ‘Dus Kadam: 10 Steps for the Future’.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

7 + 1 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all